Kohli to lead India as BCCI announces 15-man ODI squad vs South Africa

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Sunday announced India squads for the 3-match ODI series against South Africa, scheduled to be played between March 12 and 18.

Virat Kohli will lead India’s 15-member ODI squad for South Africa series. The Sunil Joshi-led five-member selection panel recalled fit-again India all-rounder Hardik Pandya, opener Shikhar Dhawan and pacer Bhubaneswar Kumar in their first task since appointment.

No Rohit Sharma yet for India

Meanwhile, vice-captain Rohit Sharma, it seems, is still not ready for international cricket. Rohit, who picked up a calf injury during a T20I series in New Zealand earlier this year, missed the subsequent ODI and the Test series. The star opener will now be hoping to be back during the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020, starting March 29.

This is the 1st time the new selection panel led by Sunil Joshi has picked the India team. Joshi and Harvinder Singh were added to the 5-member panel earlier this month by the Cricket Advisory Committee.

Pandya underwent back surgery in October 2019 and hasn’t played international cricket at all since the third T20I against South Africa in Bengaluru in September last year. However, Pandya has now proven his fitness and form in the DY Patil T20 tournament, rattling off scores of 46, 105, 38 and 158*.

“He is fit and is set to return to the national team. Having first undergone rehabilitation at the National Cricket Academy and now his performance in the T20 tournament has pretty much made it clear that he is fit to return to the fold,” the source said.

Shikhar Dhawan, who had sustained a shoulder injury during the ODI series against Australia, was back in action in the DY Patil tournament in Mumbai.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar back, Mohammed Shami rested

In the fast bowling department, Jasprit Bumrah has been picked while Mohammed Shami has been rested after the rigours of the New Zealand tour.

Meanwhile, Bhuvneshwar Kumar has been recalled for the 1st time since the West Indies series in December 2019. The India pacer also featured in the DY Patil tournament in Mumbai.

India squad: Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Virat Kohli (C), KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Shubman Gill.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here